My Books

Introspective noir
Mysteries about people, not puzzles

The links below jump to a description of each book. Click on the cover of any book to visit its page for more information and purchase a copy.

Fiction: A Still, Small Voice | A Long, Hard Look | That She is Made of Truth | Through the Fog | Into the Fog | Jake Calcutta and the Temporal Lisle

For Little Ones Ginger, the Ship Captain’s Cat

A Still, Small Voice

AStillSmallVoice-cover20151020e-flat-3DPhil Brennan is back, looking for a stolen painting and a missing girl. Smack in the center of it is a rivalry between two men. One of them is nothing like Phil’s father.

Nothing at all.

A Still, Small Voice will be available in late 2016.
Top

A Long, Hard Look

A Long, Hard LookIt was one of those days when breakfast wanted to be cheap whiskey straight from the bottle.

A short, fat banker. A willowy, buxom blonde. Phil Brennan’s latest client is the former. He prefers the latter — until he gets to know her better. She and her family back Brennan into a corner. His only way out is to choose between truth and love.

With this family, there’s a third choice, just for good measure.

Death.
ISBN: 978-0984094097

“A fun, fast-paced mystery in the classic style with a modern twist. Fans of Raymond Chandler will find much to love in ‘A Long, Hard Look.'”
Elizabeth Craig/Riley Adams, author of the Memphis Barbecue Mysteries

Top

That She is Made of Truth

That She is Made of Truth

The day his dream career ends, Jesse Donovan reconnects with an old flame. All he has to do to live happily ever after is abandon everything he’s ever believed in.

ISBN:

“I felt almost as if I were reading three different mysteries at once. There was one bit I figured out almost immediately, but other pieces left me bewildered and searching for answers right up to the end. The story had great action, suspense, humor and a hint of romance. The narrator’s voice—that of an uptight accountant—was unlike most I’ve seen used for the “sleuth” role, so the story felt extra fresh because of it. I actually find myself highlighting lines here and there just because I love how he words something.”
— Mrs. G

Top

Through the Fog

Through the Fog

An amnesiac is pursued through the wilds of west Ireland accompanied by a beautiful woman who may or may not be his friend. As flickers of memory return they only add to his confusion.

A light mystery that’s more about people than puzzles. Includes 50 black & white photographs by the author.

ISBN: 978-1434867360

“This mystery had me hooked from the beginning. I really enjoyed the light sense of humor woven throughout. The locale descriptions put me right in the Irish countryside and drinking a pint or two along with the characters. This is a perfect “end of Summer” read.”
— Kari Hagensmith

Top

Into the Fog

Into the Fog

After 3 years this sequel to Through the Fog is finally available.

How do you choose which innocent person gets hurt? In this sequel to Through the Fog, the two living O’Quinn brothers are back, luring Web Martin into another Irish adventure.

An ancient map showing the earliest voyage of an Irish hero can’t fall into the wrong hands — especially since it’s a forgery. Niall and Fearghal make it sound so simple. Web doesn’t believe a word of it, but with an Irish police officer for a girlfriend and a security specialist as his best friend, Web has no doubt they can sort out what the O’Quinns are really up to without getting in over their heads.

You’d think he’d know better by now.

ISBN: 978-1434867360

“Joel has written another page turning mystery! The characters are all too human. The twists and turns as the plot develops keep you second guessing yourself. The fine edge of anticipation, the wit and finely honed sarcasm, along with the unexpected make this book an interesting read with more than a few laughs.”
— Susan Mayfield

Top

Jake Calcutta and the Temporal Lisle

Jake Calcutta and the Temporal LisleA time-traveling Indiana Jones discovers that his work as a Deputy of the Agency for the Prevention of Historically Anomalous Events (APHAE) is causing the very damage the Agency was created to prevent.

Fans of Edgar Rice Burroughs and Isaac Asimov will sense some vague familiarity. More generous fans of those great authors may even find similarities.

Planned for summer 2017.

Top

Ginger, the Ship Captain’s Cat

Ginger, the Ship Captain's Cat30 stories about Ginger, a very special cat who traveled the world on a sailing ship a long time ago. One black and white illustration highlights each of these warm and humorous stories.

Perfect for the littlest in the family — or anyone who loves cats, fun, adventure, and travel.

Top